What is AmeriCorps?

Learn about AmeriCorps State and National, AmeriCorps VISTA, AmeriCorps NCCC, and the Segal Education Award

Jonas Kane avatar
Written by Jonas Kane
Updated over a week ago

AmeriCorps is the largest service year umbrella program, offering three main types of programs: AmeriCorps State and National, AmeriCorps VISTA, and AmeriCorps NCCC (National Civilian Community Corps). These programs are sponsored by the Corporation for National and Community Service, an independent federal agency. Full-time AmeriCorps State and National members are given a living allowance, health benefit options, potential childcare assistance, and are eligible to receive the Segal AmeriCorps Education Award upon successful completion of the program. 

Did this answer your question?